The Forgotten Bathurst Winner

With the V8 Supercar endurance races approaching, I thought I would step back and have a look at some of the little known history of Bathurst.

A history that will always record that Peter Brock and Larry Perkins won the Bathurst 1000 three times in succession in 1982, 1983, and 1984.

What is little known is that between their 1982 and 1983 triumphs, someone else won at Bathurst.


Okay, so it was just me sitting in my father’s HJ Holden Kingswood celebrating my “victory” on the start/finish line on the way home from a family trip to Sydney in 1983.

But I still won.